Thursday, March 1, 2012

Militia - "Power! Propaganda! Production!" (2011)

MILITIA "Power! Propaganda! Production!"

Year: 2011
Genre: Martial Industrial / Noise
Country: Belgium
Label: Neuropa Records

Track List:
  1. A New Statement
  2. Üb Immer Treu Und Redlichkeit
  3. A Kite Of Glass In A Blood Red Sky
  4. The Undeniable Power Of The Proletariat
  5. Power To The People
  6. Power, Propaganda And Production
  7. The Conquest Of Steel
  8. Abrupt Climate Change
  9. Cash Crash And Crisis
  10. Amidst The Burning Oil Fields
  11. The Final Level

Release notes:

""Power, Propaganda, Production!" is the new MILITIA album and it's a bull's eye! The six famous muscle workers from Belgium have not only unleashed a new production following their 2005 album "Everything Is One" on the new defunct Tactical but have also set a new milestone in their long-running industrial career. The album contains eleven new studio tracks dealing with the very topics MILITIA has always been pointing at during their provocative career: the relation between industry, the dictatorial capitalist system and the situation of the subordinate workers, the economic and financial crisis, the power of the dollar, the exploitation of human and natural resources and reserves, pollution and global warming, the and-needs-and-rights of the oppressed, the strength of unity and solidarity as a means to wipe the floor with governments, regimes and religions that are based on greed, corruption and cruelty.

Militia is a Belgian industrial-percussion band, founded in 1989 by multi instrumentalists Frank Gorissen and Jo Billen. Most of our percussion instruments are made out of oil barrels and old metal parts from cars and machines. They combine these self made instruments with conventional drums, toms and cymbals. The band members also play a variety of self-made wind instruments and tools.

"Power, Propaganda, Production!" comes in a deluxe cardboard box with an 8-page booklet and a magnificent MILITIA politburo mini-poster, all designed by Metastazis from France. The six percussion players are lined up in front of the new flag, fists clenched, shoulder to shoulder, stronger than ever, armed with their huge metal and skin percussion installations to crash the corrupt systems under their boots!"

After 6 years of silence, a new Militia LP was released in March 2011, consisting of 11 pieces of glorious propaganda. If you heard and liked their earlier albums ("Everything Is One" and "The Black Flag Hoisted"), I'll definitely recommend it to you; otherwise you may find it too lengthy and boring, especially if you aren't familiar with this kind of music. Anyway, this is one more time Militia have proved to be good successors to (early) Laibach, and the cover art is great too.


  1. Recently discovered this fantastic band (yesterday?) along with your blog. Glad to have found both! Cheers.

  2. I would like to get in contact with this band to ask permission to use clips on an episode of a podcast. I love the sound that seems to blend both modern and ancient/primal elements, and would really love to use some clips. Please reply to deadideaspod [at] gmail [dot] com. Thanks!