Monday, September 15, 2014

Yidak - "ཡི་དྭགས་" (2013)

YIDAK "ཡི་དྭགས་"

Year: 2013
Genre: Lo-Fi Depressive Black Metal
Country: USA

Track List:
  1. The Creeps
  2. Twerpfuck
  3. Sobriety
  4. Yoruda
  5. The Bitch
  6. 苦しい (Kurushii)
  7. The Thinking Forest
  8. Unkind

Here's one of the demos that I promised to post a couple of weeks ago. Right now I'm mostly "resurrecting" the dead download links in my older posts, as well as doing some cleanup of my blog, but I have a time for posting some newer material too. Looks like Hayduke X. is back here too, so I hope all these demos will be reviewed soon with the help of my co-editors.

Yidak is an one-man project from Austin, TX, whose only member apparently doesn't approve of all the nationalism that's widespread in black metal, and definitely considers himself a part of our cause and movement. Unfortunately the quality of recording on this album is quite low, but he promises to put out more material in the not-so-distant future, hopefully recorded in higher quality:

"...An album I recorded by myself in my room on an Tascam 8-track. It's a compilation of sorts, being that half the album was recorded in one 1-week session, and the other half recorded about half a year+ later in about a month-long session. I would describe the genre as depressive/experimental black metal, with an emphasis on anger, sadness and storytelling. Some songs contain a great deal of melody, while others play off of more metallic riffing..."



  1. Definitely some bright (or is it 'dark') spots in his songwriting, but still miles to go. Worth keeping an eye on though... What bugs me a little is that he tags his music, amongst others, 'burzum'. Not so great for someone being RABM...

  2. (tagging on bandcamp i should have added)

  3. Yes, I'm back. I was camping a lot over the summer plus had a computer die. Now that its been replaced, I'm trying to fit reviews into my schedule. More coming tonight.