Saturday, February 21, 2015

Iskra - "Ruins" (2015)

ISKRA "Ruins"

Year: 2015
Genre: Blackened Crust/Grind, Anarchist Black Metal
Country: Canada

Track List:
  1. Lawless
  2. Ruins
  3. Predator Drone MQ-1
  4. Traume
  5. Nihil
  6. Illegal
  7. Aegis of the Victor
  8. Der Einzige
  9. Lebensraum
  10. Battle of the Hundred Slain

While I continue to receive a lot of demos, I don't feel like I want to post any of them right now, sorry. On the other hand, an announce of the next full-length from Iskra is great news and definitely should be mentioned on here. The exact date of release is still TBA, but there already are two songs available for streaming of bandcamp ("Ruins" & "Predator Drone MQ-1"), and they're awesome. Hopefully the rest of the album is going to be just as good...

UPD 17 July 2015: the whole album is now avaiable for download, and I got to say it's awesome!

Friday, February 20, 2015

V/A - "Resistance: Anti-NSBM compilation vol.2" (2015)

V/A "Resistance: Anti-NSBM compilation vol.2"

Year: 2015
Genre: various
Country: various

Track List:
  1. Modesto Continente - Cat-ass-trophy
  2. Acromo - Faces do Ecocídio
  3. Cuscuta - Untitled
  4. Larva Ov Cum - Imploro fiumi di IRA Sociale
  5. Satanatum - Do The Drones Dream Of Electric Gods
  6. Angoracoid - Satanico Pandemonium
  7. SatAnarchist Apparition Storm - Total Fucking Anarchy
  8. Regnvm Animale - Samsara
  9. Pulso Etilico - Paranoia
  10. Ierru - Cussu chi Depet Èssere Fatu
  11. Nephilim - The Necromancer
  12. Wild's Reprisal - Death of Nature
  13. Schattenlicht - Niemals vergessen
  14. Virium - Wolved by the moonlight
  15. In Flagrante Delicto - Ultio
  16. Misery Index - The Color of Blood
  17. Gulag - Death and Its Roses
  18. Deafest - Rising From the Ridgeline
  19. Rejekts - Caduta
  20. Black Cascade - Arise
  21. Karg - Asternregen
  22. Twilight Fauna - Emancipation in Chaos
  23. Peregrine - Reduced to Ashes
  24. Smärta - Postmodernism

Since Preston already has posted the second part of "Crushing Intolerance", the only anti-NSBM complilation left to me is "Resistance: vol.2", made by the crew of The Dark Skies Above Us and Satanatum (lo-fi electro BM project from Krakow).

Compared with the 1st volume of "Resistance", this one is significantly more lengthy and more metal-oriented. Generally speaking, I didn't like it as much as "Crushing Intolerance", although it has plenty of good tracks too (however, there's also a lot of lo-fi stuff not for everyone's liking). It's still a great effort anyway, so feel free to spread it around! All the money from this compilation will go to support Eric McDavid, an anarchist and environmental activist who was entrapped by a FBI informant and sentenced to19 years and 7 months in prison, but fortunately released on 8th of January this year.

Monday, February 16, 2015

V/A - "Crushing Intolerance Vol. 2" (2015)

V/A - Crushing Intolerance Volume 2

Year: 2015
Genre: Various
Country: Various

Track Listing:
  1. Corvid Canine - Ammodramus Maritimus Nigres
  2. Black Shape of Nexus - 60WV
  3. Wild Reprisal - Bio-Civilization
  4. Enisum - Rüvat Rùciaj
  5. Twilight Fauna - Emancipation in Chaos
  6. Deafest - 14,000 Feet 
  7. Regnvm Animal - Entropi
  8. Ancient Emblem - Stone Circle
  9. Schattenlicht - Widerstand
  10. geÄst - wo es dunkel ist 
  11. Alone - Erotic Dissonance 
  12. Fortress Black - Traum Schwarz
  13. Mácula - Prisões  
  14. Ü - Ofelie  
  15. KRÄTZE - Ketzer 
  16. Anti-Freeze - All Fascists Deserve to Die 
  17. Stellar Descent - Fading (Excerpt) 
  18. Hunter Gatherer - Ogopogo  
  19. A god or an Other - No Shepherds  
  20. Evergreen Refuge - The Darkened Path: An Earthen Initiation 
  21. mar. - Drown 
  22. Crown of Asteria - Totem: Invocation of the Owl      

Once again, I am really proud of be a part of this compilation (Under Anti-Freeze) that I can say without bias is full of some incredible artists and people. The first volume went off without a hitch and we managed to raise a good share of funds while pissing off Nazi shitheads in the process. Hopefully this one does the same.

All funds go towards 350.org who are working towards fighting climate change through grassroots organization.

350.org is building a global climate movement. Our online campaigns, grassroots organizing, and mass public actions are coordinated by a global network active in over 188 countries. We believe that a global grassroots movement can hold our leaders accountable to the realities of science and the principles of justice. That movement is rising from the bottom up all over the world, and is uniting to create the solutions that will ensure a better future for all. We think the climate crisis is about power — but not just the kind of power that runs our cars and keeps the lights on. We believe that the only way we’ll see meaningful action on climate change is if we can counter the power of the fossil fuel industry with the power of people taking collective action."

Thanks to Chase of Deafest and Paul from Twilight Fauna for putting this together once again and to all the bands/supporters who are working to make the music we enjoy less polluted by right-wing scum. 

Friday, February 13, 2015

Efferat - "okuukun tl amon rosesn bsrer" (2015)

Efferat - Okuukun tl Amon Rosesn Bsrer

Year: 2015
Genre: Post-Metal, Atmospheric Black Metal
Country: USA/Canada

Track Listing
  1. Theravada
  2. Tagati
  3. Devadatta
  4. Grimlor
  5. Rage of Leoshitus

Had this come in recently and it's quite the release. So far you get this really interesting blend of raw atmospheric black metal with these jazzy sections that often fade into some sort of ambient interlude. For a three piece, they really fill the space and I could only imagine that this is some wicked shit to see live.

I'm not really sure of the band's history but they appear to be a project between people from Philadelphia and Toronto. Maybe I'll run into them someday being from near Toronto myself...


Cuscuta - "The Wilderness Within" (2014)

Cuscuta - "The Wilderness Within"

Year: 2014
Genre: Atmospheric Black Metal
Country: USA

Track Listing
  1. Atavism and the Destruction of Civilization
  2. Trapped in the Beast... Tearing from Within

Featuring the same person from Evergreen Refuge, Cuscuta is a project that is just as raw and fantastic. The sound is more spacey and when you really crank the volume, it's extremely powerful. Most of the lyrics on this release speak from an eco perspective, with Evergreen yelling into the void as civilization collapses around us.

This release is basically two long tracks. Not very uncommon for him as Evergreen Refuge generally has some pretty lengthy pieces. It all flows so well though that you barely notice. Give it a listen and see what you think.