Saturday, September 22, 2012

Panopticon - "Kentucky" (2012)


Year: 2012
Genre: Atmospheric Black Metal, Acoustic Folk/Country/Bluegrass
Country: USA

Track List:
  1. Bernheim Forest in Spring
  2. Bodies Under the Falls
  3. Come All Ye Coal Miners
  4. Black Soot and Red Blood
  5. Which Side Are You On?
  6. Killing the Giants as They Sleep
  7. Black Waters
  8. Kentucky
I think Austin Lunn of Panopticon needs no introduction, and here's his latest full-length release, "Kentucky". It has already received a lot of critical acclaim, and a lot of people consider it a masterpiece and a groundbreaking release. It should be noted, however, that a half of the tracks on "Kentucky" aren't metal, but bluegrass (a subgenre of acoustic folk/country originated in Kentucky). I personally am not a fan of country/bluegrass/americana/etc., but the idea of "blackgrass" seems interesting and was already implemented to some extent on the earlier albums by Panopticon. As far as I can understand, the "folk" part of this album is mostly a homage to the coal miners of Kentucky and their musical culture.

1 comment :