Saturday, November 30, 2013

Граница - "Знамя цвета ночи" (2012)

ГРАНИЦА "Знамя цвета ночи"

Year: 2012
Genre: Folk-Rock
Country: Ukraine 

Track List:
  1. Лютая погодка
  2. Знамя цвета ночи
  3. Кони вёрсты рвут намётом
  4. Ой, по коням сіли хлопці
  5. Ехали козаки домой
  6. Любо
  7. Батьку степ
  8. Чёрная шляпа
  9. Я в бой бросался с головой
  10. У полі жито

In the wake of ongoing protests in Ukraine, it's time to remind that the history of protest movements in Ukraine isn't limited to "orange-ism". Since I already have posted a lot of non-metal folk albums, this folk-rock release would fit in too.

"Знамя цвета ночи" is a concept work about the story of Nestor Makhno's army. Some of the lyrics (tracks #1, #2, #7 and #9, for example) are actualy poetry of Makhno and his close associates. Tracks #4, #5, #6, #8, #10 are authentic folk, anarchist, & cossack songs (of course I mean real cossacks with their traditions of independence and self-governance, and not Putin-loving clowns in ridiculous pseudo-historical outfits that call themselves "cossacks" nowadays). The lyrics for track #3 were written by a modern anarchist author, V.Platonenko.

The band members themselves are from Donetsk (Donbass, Easten Ukraine - which isn't that far from Gulay-Pole, historical Makhno's headquarters). The music is very rich and interesting, definitely recommended to those who are interested in more "punk-ish" side of folk rock... and of course to everyone who's interested in the history of one of the greatest attempts of struggle for human liberation, which is Russian civil war in general, and the story of Makhno's Black Army in particular (the second greatest example of such struggle being Spanish civil war, and the third one is currently ongoing in Syrian Kurdistan).


  1. please reupload erased files

    i cant find this album anywhere