Friday, May 27, 2011

Homunculi - "Homunculi" (2011)

HOMUNCULI "Homunculi"

Year: 2010
Genre: Post-Black Metal / RABM
Country: Brazil

Track List:
  1. Crows
  2. Viver Fim
  3. Depois de falarem os dominantes, falarão os dominados

Another band from Brazil (although they're from Curitiba, while Nuclear Frost are Paulistas). Homunculi are led by Felipe, who's also a member of Vaba Marat and a former member of Motim. Initially, the project was called Homvncvli, but looks like they have abandoned that "trve & kvlt" way of spelling their name. Here's their debut 3-track EP, and it's obviously influenced by Panopticon and the whole RABM thing in general. Recommended! And feel free to post it on your blog, if you have one - any support for this new and very promising RABM band would be much appreciated...

facebook / bandcamp

Nuclëar Fröst - "Nuclear Winter Gloom" (2010)

NUCLEAR FROST "Nuclear Winter Gloom"

Year: 2010
Genre: Blackened Thrash Metal/Crust
Country: Brazil

Track List:
  1. Destruidor Durandal
  2. Dias De Luta
  3. Magnetic Tempest
  4. Frost Doom
  5. Mansklighet
  6. Nuclear Winter Gloom
  7. Storm Thrashing Bomber
  8. Tanque De Gas
  9. The Hammer
  10. Acid Bath
  11. Dark Bomb Metal Squad
  12. The Cimex War Games
  13. Destruction Continues
  14. Stop Animal Abuse
  15. Kamikaze Roar

The spirit of 80s' metal is alive and well in Latin America! You already may know this Brazilian blackened thrash / war crust band by their two demos which I've posted in my blog before. They also released a few splits during 2009-2011, but I haven't heard any of them yet.

Monday, May 9, 2011

Ash Borer - "Ash Borer" (2011)


Year: 2011
Genre: Cascadian Black Metal
Country: USA

Track List:

  1. In the Midst of Life, We Are in Death
  2. Rest, You Are the Lightning
  3. My Curse Was Raised in the Darkness Against a Doomsday Silence


Here's the first full-length release by Ash Borer... need I say more? We had to wait two years for this excellent album, and finally it's available through a variety of labels (Gilead Media, Eternal Warfare, Suburban Mayhem, Psychic Violence). Regarding their ideology: they once described themselves as "Godless, Masterless, Hopeless" on their myspace, and I don't think they have changed their views since then.

Saturday, May 7, 2011

Warkult - "Kult Of Disorder" (2009)

WARKULT "Kult Of Disorder"

Year: 2009
Genre: Anarchist Black Metal / Thrash Metal
Country: France

Track List:
  1. Kult of Disorder
  2. Messiah of Civil War
  3. Voice of Authority
  4. Law and Order
  5. Halu
  6. Inside Me
  7. Time for Oppression
  8. Human Factory
  9. Mother Earth Revenge

I've heard something about this band back in 2007, when I just started my research in RABM, but only now I've listened to all their albums. Their music is a mix of black, death and thrash metal in roughly even proportion, and the result is quite interesting (I think it doesn't sound like the most bands in my blog... the closest analogue would be probably Altare).

Warkult started in early 2000s under the name "Berserk". So far they have released two albums ("The New Becoming" and this one), plus one Berserk demo. All these releases are available for free on their myspace page.