Saturday, February 27, 2010

Amebix - "No Sanctuary" (1984)

AMEBIX "No Sanctuary"

Year: 1984
Genre: Crust/Thrash Metal
Country: UK
Label: Spiderleg Records

Track List:
  1. Battery Humans
  2. Control
  3. Progress?
  4. Sanctuary
  5. The Church Is For Sinners
  6. Sunshine Ward (Glad To Be Dead)
  7. Moscow Madness (No Gods Part 2)

NB: The release notes say that the cover is a photograph of Polish mothers looking for their dead sons during the 2nd World War. It's indeed a WWII photo, but it was taken in early 1942 in Crimea, not Poland.

When being compared with previous two 7''s, this 12'' EP features slighty better quality of production, and more "metallic" sound. Of course it's not comparable to their full-length releases, but it's a precursor for what was to come in 1985.

1 comment :