Friday, September 25, 2009

Iskra - "Iskra" (2004)

ISKRA "Iskra"

Year: 2004
Genre: Blackened Crust
Country: Canada
Label: Profane Existence

Track List:
  1. Insurgence
  2. Prisoners of Conscience
  3. Acceptance not Tolerance
  4. Antisect
  5. Face of Capital
  6. Masters of War
  7. Culmine
  8. Ash and Ruin
  9. Massacre of the Innocent
  10. Threat Inflation
  11. Culture of Cowardice

Well... let's begin from an absolutely classic album. This seems to be the very first release from a RABM band that became widely known. Of course it's not pure black metal, it's a mix of BM and extreme crustcore and even grindcore... but anyway, enjoy it. BTW, Iskra was previously known as Black Kronstadt, and Black Kronstadt was the first band to bring some elements of black metal into crust punk (as early as in 1995). The band is 100% anarchist, of course, and all the lyrics are political.

P.S. "In a very ironic paradox, black metal and crust punk have recently started to embrace one another. Members of Darkthrone and Satyricon have lately claimed that they love punk, while among crusties, black metal is the latest fashion. In fact, the latest album by crust punk band Skitsystem sounds very black metal--while the latest black metal opus by Darkthrone sounds very punk! This would have been unimaginable in the early 90's" (c)


  1. Hello from Victoria! Would you like a copy of the Self Rule split? If so, contact us @ - Cheers

  2. My favourite Iskra's release.
    "Acceptance Not Tolerance" looks like good slogan =)