RSS || Add to bookmarks (FF only) || I | II | youtube | facebook I | facebook II | vkontakte | reddit
Note: of all these pages, only the groups and the youtube channel are owned by the creator of this blog.
The rest of them (including both facebook groups) were created by completely other people.

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Axegrinder - "Rise Of The Serpent Men" (1988)

AXEGRINDER "Rise Of The Serpent Men"

Year: 1988
Genre: Crust/Stenchcore/Thrash Metal
Country: UK
Label: Peaceville Records

Track List:
  1. Never Ending Winter
  2. Hellstorm
  3. Life Chain
  4. War Machine
  5. Evilution
  6. Rise of the Serpent Men
  7. The Final War

7 tracks of slow, gloomy and apocalyptic metal music (yes, it's much more metal than punk!). Axegrinder split up shortly after this release, to form a progressive metal band called Wartech - but it was very short-lived too. "Rise Of The Serpent Men" was later re-released as a part of "Acknowledge the Confusion Master" split with Prophecy Of Doom. Beside these releases, Axegrinder also had a live tape called "Live 11-7-87", but I haven't found it yet.

Axegrinder - "Grind The Enemy" (1986)

AXEGRINDER "Grind The Enemy"

Year: 1986
Genre: Crust/Stenchcore/Thrash Metal
Country: UK

Track List:

  1. Intro
  2. Aftermath
  3. Master Race
  4. One Law
  5. Grind The Enemy
  6. Armistice
  7. Thealphobia
  8. Damnation of the Living
  9. Special Brew


One more legendary 80's anarcho-crust/thrash metal band from UK. This demo is just as raw as Hellbastard's first demo, but anyway it's a classic release with very estimable political message. GRIND THE ENEMY!

Monday, March 1, 2010

Hellbastard - "They Brought Death" (1989)

HELLBASTARD "They Brought Death"

Year: 1989
Genre: Crust/Stenchcore/Thrash Metal
Country: UK

Track List:
  1. Schwarzeswasser (intro)
  2. Deadlock
  3. They Brought Death

And one more release by Hellbastard, an EP that presents basically the same mix of crust and thrash metal (and not without some elements of proto-black metal) that was on previous LP. I probably wouldn't post their later releases ("Natural Order" and the others), because I think they're less interesting than the first three ones.

Hellbastard - "Heading For Internal Darkness" (1988)

HELLBASTARD "Heading For Internal Darkness"

Year: 1988
Genre: Crust/Stenchcore/Thrash Metal
Country: UK
Label: Meantime Records

Track List:
  1. We Had No Evidence
  2. Civilised?
  3. Nazis Killed
  4. Death Camp
  5. Massacre
  6. Heading For Internal Darkness
  7. The Pylons
  8. Afrikkan Beggar
  9. Rise Of Crust

The first LP by Hellbastard, and the best one to start if you haven't listened to Hellbastard before. 9 tracks of dark and gloomy crust mixed with thrash metal, with political lyrics. If you like "Arise" by Amebix, you most definitely will like "Heading For Internal Darkness".

Hellbastard - "Ripper Crust" (1986)

HELLBASTARD "Ripper Crust"

Year: 1986
Genre: Crust/Stenchcore
Country: UK

Track List:
  1. Intro
  2. Nazis Killed
  3. Massacre
  4. Deceiver
  5. Insanity
  6. Death From Above
  7. Life for Who
  8. Kill or Be Killed
  9. Outside Claustrophobia

Yes, it's the release that gave name to crust punk. Of course it's not the first release in that genre, but it's a very essential one. Of course the quality of production is rather poor, but remember it's just a demo recorded in 80s...